Florida’s intangible personal property tax was an annual tax on the market value of intangible property, such as stocks, bonds, and mutual fund shares, owned by Florida residents and businesses.
In 2006, the Florida legislature repealed most parts of the tax effective January 1, 2007 (Ch.
209), Laws 2006).
How much is the intangible tax in Florida?
Intangible tax is calculated on the loan amount shown in the note. Not all states require intangible tax on loans, and those that do can vary in the amount. Florida’s fee amount for this tax is $.20 per $100 or $2 per $1,000 of lended money.
What is the intangible tax?
Currently, the intangible tax is imposed at the rate of $1.50 per $500, or $3 per $1,000, based upon the loan amount.
Are services taxed in Florida?
Services in Florida are generally not taxable.
But watch out – if the service you provide includes creating or repairing a product, you may have to deal with the sales tax on products. Tangible products are taxable in Florida , with a few exceptions.
How do I calculate transfer tax in Florida?
To calculate the amount of transfer tax you owe, simply use the following formula:
- Identify the tax rate of your state or county. Miami-Dade = $0.60 for every $100.
- Identify the full sale price of the property. Ex: $500,000.
- Calculate the taxable units.
- Multiply the taxable units by the transfer tax.