Quick Answer: What Are The Different Types Of Fires?

There are actually five main types of fires.

Fires can be classified in five different ways depending on the agent that fuels them: Class A, Class B, Class C, Class D, and Class K.

Each type of fire involves different flammable materials and requires a special approach.13 Dec 2018

What are the 4 types of fires?

There are six classes of fire: Class A, Class B, Class C, Class D, ‘Electrical’, and Class F.

  • – Class A fires – combustible materials: caused by flammable solids, such as wood, paper, and fabric.
  • – Class B fires – flammable liquids: such as petrol, turpentine or paint.

What are the 5 types of fire?

Classes of fire

  1. Class A – fires involving solid materials such as wood, paper or textiles.
  2. Class B – fires involving flammable liquids such as petrol, diesel or oils.
  3. Class C – fires involving gases.
  4. Class D – fires involving metals.
  5. Class E – fires involving live electrical apparatus. (

How many types of fire are there?

There are 3 classes of common fires and 2 specialty classes.

Fires are classified into 5 groups: CLASS A: Class A fires involve common combustibles such as wood, paper, cloth, rubber, trash and plastics.

What is fire type?

Fire class is a term used to denote the type of fire, in relation to the combustion materials which have (or could be) ignited. This has onward impacts on the type of suppression or extinguishing materials which can be used.

What is pass full form?

Discharge the extinguisher within its effective range using the P.A.S.S. technique (pull, aim, squeeze, sweep).

What is a Class A material?

Class A. Class A fires are defined as ordinary combustibles. These types are fires use commonly flammable material as their fuel source. Wood, fabric, paper, trash ,and plastics are common sources of Class A fires.